What’s Johnny’s score?
|
1.
Johnny decides not
to take on the water hazard running across the 16th fairway and uses his
rescue club from the tee. 2.
Probably because
he is not trying for distance, his timing is perfect and the ball flies
straight and much further than he intended. 3.
He cannot tell if
his ball has stopped on the fairway or has rolled the extra couple of yards
into the hazard, so he announces that he is playing a provisional ball and
uses his driver to easily clear the water hazard. 4.
When he reaches
the water he sees that his ball has just crossed the margin of the hazard but
is not in the water and is playable. 5.
However, a Bob says
that his second ball is in play as he was not permitted to play a provisional
ball in the circumstances. 6.
Johnny is unsure
but takes the other Bob's advice and picks-up his original ball. 7.
He makes the apron
of the green with his next stroke, moves grass cuttings on his intended line
of putt and takes two putts to hole out. What is Johnny's score for the hole? Scroll down to see the answer… |
|
|
|
Stroke |
Reason |
|
1 |
Drive from the tee |
|
2 and 3 |
Ball played from the tee under penalty
of stroke and distance Note: The fellow competitor was
correct in saying that Martin's second ball was the ball in play as a
provisional ball may not be played unless the original ball may be lost
outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds (Rule 27-2). There is no
penalty for accepting the other player's information on the Rules, which does
not constitute advice (Definition of Advice) |
|
4 |
Stroke to the apron of the green Note: There is no penalty for moving
grass cuttings, which are loose impediments, from the intended line of putt
(Rule 23-1) |
|
5 & 6 |
Putting out |
|
|
|
|
|
Johnny scores 6 for the hole |
