Our Sponsors

What’s Johnny’s score?

 

1.    Johnny decides not to take on the water hazard running across the 16th fairway and uses his rescue club from the tee.

2.    Probably because he is not trying for distance, his timing is perfect and the ball flies straight and much further than he intended.

3.    He cannot tell if his ball has stopped on the fairway or has rolled the extra couple of yards into the hazard, so he announces that he is playing a provisional ball and uses his driver to easily clear the water hazard.

4.    When he reaches the water he sees that his ball has just crossed the margin of the hazard but is not in the water and is playable.

5.    However, a Bob says that his second ball is in play as he was not permitted to play a provisional ball in the circumstances.

6.    Johnny is unsure but takes the other Bob's advice and picks-up his original ball.

7.    He makes the apron of the green with his next stroke, moves grass cuttings on his intended line of putt and takes two putts to hole out.

 

What is Johnny's score for the hole?

 

Scroll down to see the answer…

 

 

Stroke

Reason

1

Drive from the tee

2 and 3

Ball played from the tee under penalty of stroke and distance

Note: The fellow competitor was correct in saying that Martin's second ball was the ball in play as a provisional ball may not be played unless the original ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds (Rule 27-2). There is no penalty for accepting the other player's information on the Rules, which does not constitute advice (Definition of Advice)

4

Stroke to the apron of the green

Note: There is no penalty for moving grass cuttings, which are loose impediments, from the intended line of putt (Rule 23-1)

5 & 6

Putting out

 

 

 

Johnny scores 6 for the hole

 

 

Click here to see the tournament results

H
E
L
P